Graduate Student Directory

M.A. Students

Carlisle Adams

Andrew Bacas

Margaret Chapman

Nathan Childs

Nicole Crisp

Brandy Dixon

Emma Engstrom

Ryan Fontanilla

Colette Fradin

Gregory Graves

Matthew Green

Clay Katsky

Salem Kidane

Charles Kraus

Nicholas Lyons

Megan Maggi

Kevin Moran

Christopher Ramsey

Christopher Ring

Timothy Roy

Bruce Rushing

Kerrington Shields

Michael Tune

Paul Wilson

Bianca Wythe

Ph.D. Students

Haruka Akashi

Nick Alexandrov

Lauren Angel

Elham Bakhtary

Lindsay Beach

Daniel Berkhout 

Matthew Bias

Kate Densford

Candice Ellis

James Feenstra

Kelsey Flynn

Patrick Funicello

John Garratt

Matthew Gibson

Bill Horne

Jason Hushour

Robert Isaacson

Lauren Jannette

Ruby Johnson

Shaadi Khoury

Charles Kraus

Seth LaShier

Milorad Lazic

Ronald Leonhardt

Martin Margolis

Andreas Meyris

Ryan Musto

Alexa Price

Tamar Rabinowitz

Charles Richter

Josh Segal

Julia Sittmann

Kyla Sommers

Ithi Sophonpanich

Katharine White

Sarah Wilkes

Nathan Wuertenberg

Qingfei Yin

Benjamin Young


PhD student Kate Densford receives 2016-17 Fulbright Fellowship

PhD student Kate Densford has been awarded a 2016-17 Fulbright Fellowship to conduct research in Austria and the Czech Republic for her dissertation on "The Collapse of Provincial Austria in the First World War." Congratulations, Kate!

Graduate Awards and Fellowships

Departmental Awards, 2015

Charles Herber Teaching Prize:

  • Katharine White

Elmer Louis Kayser Prize for Best Thesis by a Graduate Student in a Masters Program:

  • Bianca Wythe, "Food as a Weapon: America's Mobilization for Nutrition during WWII."
  • Selam Kidane, "Interrogating Theories of Imperialism: A Case Study on Kagnew Station."

Howard M. Sachar Prize for Best Research Paper by a Graduate Student

  • Robert Isaacson, "Audacity and Admiration: French Public Discourse and the Boats of Cherbourg."
  • Nathan Wuertenberg, "'They will Not Know Who Shall Enjoy the Crop': The Continental Congress, Indians, and Agriculture."


National Awards and Fellowships, 2014-2015

Katharine White, grants from the German Academic Exchange Service-DAAD and the German Historical Institute to conduct research for her dissertation on  “The ‘Red Woodstock’ Generation: East Germans Between the East, West, and Global South.”

Bob Isaacson, American Academy for Jewish Research, Graduate Student Travel Grant, to conduct research in Paris for his dissertation, "From 'Brave Little Israel' to 'an Elite and Domineering People:' The Image of Israel in France, 1948-1973." Earlier this year Bob was awarded the Marjorie M. and Lancelot Farrar Memorial Award from the Society of French Historical Studies "for work on outstanding dissertation projects in progress."

Ben Young, Kathryn Davis Fellowship to study Korean at the Middlebury Language School in Summer 2015.

Chuck Kraus, Henry Luce Foundation/ACLS Program in China Studies Predissertation-Summer Travel Grant.

Qingfei Yin, Henry Luce Foundation/ACLS Program in China Studies Predissertation-Summer Travel Grant; China and Inner Asia Council (CIAC) Travel Grant from the Association for Asian Studies.

Martin Margolis, Cosmos Scholars Award, for his dissertation, "Cultures of Contention in the Egyptian Countryside, 1914-1919." 

Lauren Angel, Cosmos Scholars Award, for her dissertation, "Dance Companies and Their Presentation of American Race and Gender in Cold War Diplomacy."

Lindsay Beach received a grant of $1000 from The Archie K. Davis Fellowship to Promote Research and Publication in North Carolina's History and Culture from The North Carolina Society at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Justin Pope, Ph.D. 2014, Joint Fellow, John Carter Brown Library and the Center for the Study of Slavery and Justice, Brown University.